UK Network Management Board

“I am relishing the opportunity to help the UKNMB meet the significant challenges that lie ahead. Our strategic priorities will include reducing the impact of congestion and tackling accessibility, safety and security issues. Technology is key for improving reliability and what drivers experience on road networks. Intelligent Transport Systems are no longer discussed as an innovation that is coming. Urban Traffic Management and Control and Sat Nav have arrived and we need to fully understand the implications and opportunities for networks. The development will be interoperability and a change to getting information from the car, to the roadside and back to the car". 

Mark Kemp, Chair of the UK Network Management Board

UK Network Management Board 


Membership and terms of reference
The UK Network Management Board is chaired by Mark Kemp, Director of Environment and Infrastructure, Hertfordshire County Council who represents the Association of Directors of Environment, Economy, Planning and Transport (ADEPT). The Board has the following members:

  • Jonathan Moran (Transport Scotland), representing Transport Scotland
  • Colin Jones (Transport for Wales), representing Welsh Government
  • Satbir Gill (Ringway Hounslow Highways Limited), representing TAG.
  • Philip Robinson (Traffic Management), representing the Department for Infrastructure, Northern Ireland
  • Andrew Sherry, representing Transport for London
  • TBC, representing the Association of Chief Police Officers and Association of Chief Police Officers in Scotland
  • Sally Gibbons, representing the Department for Transport
  • Freda Rashdi, representing Highways England, Network Services
  • Professor Nick Tyler, (UCL) representing academia
  • Ewan Wallace (Aberdeenshire Council), representing SCOTS
  • TBC, representing the Country Surveyors Society (CSS) Wales



Sign up to the APM Newsletter.