UK Bridges Board

"Bridges enable us to cross obstacles. They link communities and unlock areas to enable development. They are iconic, forming part of our landscape and heritage; people feel a personal connection to them. They are often at the intersections between different networks; road, rail and waterways. They are a very valuable asset, which requires continued maintenance, and appropriately skilled and qualified people to manage them.

The UK Bridges Board brings together bridge managers from across the United Kingdom, to share best practice, support research and to develop better, more collaborative relationships." 


Liz Kirkham, Chair of UK Bridges Board.




The UK Bridges Board brings together national and local government from across the UK to consider bridges and highway structures engineering matters. It was set up in 2001, and reports to the UK Roads Liaison Group.


The Board is chaired by Liz Kirkham (Gloucestershire County Council) representing the Association of Directors of Environment, Economy, Planning and Transport (ADEPT) and has the following members:

  • Nick Burgess, representing London Underground Ltd
  • Colin Hall, representing Network Rail 
  • Kevin Dentith (Devon County Council) representing Association of Directors of Environment, Economy, Planning and Transport (ADEPT)
  • Richard Fish, representing Bridge Owners' Forum (BOF)
  • Keith Harwood, representing  ADEPT Bridges Group
  • Colin Ferris, representing Infrastructure Northern Ireland
  • Satbir Gill (Hounslow Highways), representing the London Technical Advisors' Group (LoTAG)
  • Nicola Head, representing Transport for London
  • Jason Hibbert, representing the Welsh Government
  • Hazel McDonald, representing Transport Scotland
  • Bob Humphreys, representing County Surveyors' Society Wales (CSS Wales)
  • Gary Kemp, representing the Department for Transport
  • Neil Loudon, representing Highways England
  • Stuart Molyneux, representing the Metropolitan Authorities
  • TBC, representing the London Bridges Engineering Group (LoBEG)
  • Andrew Strang (Perth & Kinross Council), representing the Society of Chief Officers of Transportation in Scotland (SCOTS)
  • Andrew Stevenson, representing Scottish Canals
  • Fred Hartley, representing the Canal and River Trust